in-hull depth transducer in Centaur?

yankeedoodle
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: westerly

in-hull depth transducer in Centaur?

Post by yankeedoodle » Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:21 am

Has anyone used an in-hull depth transducer in a centaur? I'd like to stick one in a locker in the forepeak but I've never used one before.

Thanks,

jim

Jolly Roger
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: in-hull depth transducer in Centaur?

Post by Jolly Roger » Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:16 am

Jim

It has been years since I fitted a depth sounder, but I did use an in hull mounting on the last one about 25 years ago. Bascally this is a normal transducer that is fixed into a tube sealed to the hull. To ensure a good reading, the air space between the hull and the transducer is filled with, IIRC, parafin oil that came in the kit. No difference in working of the depth sounder between a through hull and a in hull mounting of the transducer. So you will be fine provided it is located in a suitable position on the hull.

Just remembered a funny story relating to an echo sounder. This was in the early 1970's on my father's racing yacht. As we were leaving the mooring, the echo sounder had stopped working. This was a problem as we were racing at Burnham on Crouch, a fast flowing river with lots of shallows. So racing without an echo sounder was a massive risk, especially when trying to cheat the strong tide. So my father was dropped ashore and he managed to buy a new echo sounder and only reached the boat a couple of minutes before the 10 minute gun was fired. Panic stations aboard to try and rig the new echo sounder up, it was not the same type so no simple just change over. It was wired direct to the battery and the transducer was taped to the end of a scrubbing brush - simple but it worked as we did not run aground that day! I have to admit it was not fun holding the scrubbing brush over the side whilst racing.
Roger
Concerto Fulmar FR38
Photos at http://s1294.photobucket.com/user/Conce ... 2/library/