Wiring in Centaur mast

Hillary
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:36 am
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by Hillary » Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:16 pm

I have just had my Mast down to be re-rigged while it was down I took the opportunity to replace the aerial and also to fit a running light and deck light. I needed to run some new wires down the mast and although in one instance I had an old cable to use to pull the new one through the others were new.

I actually achieved the cable run through in around 20 minutes. So this trick might help others and save the £200 I was quoted by a marine electronic engineer.

I got an old phillips type screwdriver bit which was about 30mm long and since it had a groove at the end that I tied some whipping twine to the thinest part. The groove is vital because it stops the twine from slipping off. I then popped the screwdriver bit through the newly drilled hole in the mast. and arranged the twine so that it could run freely. Then I got a strong neodymium magnet and drew the screwdriver bit down the mast. It worked a treat and I was able to guide the screwdriver bit through the rubber cable gland at the base. I then tied stronger nylon cord to the twine and pulled that through and lastly tied the cable to the cord and pulled that through.

The workmen and engineers in the yard thought I was crazy at the start but when they saw the job done so quickly they asked where I got the magnets from.
Moonshine, Centaur CR1149

sgr143
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:29 pm
Anti Spam measure: Yes
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by sgr143 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:11 am

Wow - that's what I call a Top Tip!

I might need to use it soon, too...

Thanks!
Steve Roberts - "Osprey" Merlin MN74 at WicorMarine

Gary-Cottam
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 12:56 pm
Anti Spam measure: Yes
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by Gary-Cottam » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:17 am

I purchased one of these and it seems just the job:

http://www.allproductdesign.co.uk/anchor%20lights.html
Westerly Centaur 1421 - Gemini
Haven Marina, Ipswich

TyroSailor
Posts: 630
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 6:48 pm
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by TyroSailor » Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:21 pm

That looks good - LEDs, presumably. Three Qs:
  • Is it bright? (1M vis)
    Is it waterproof?
    Does it turn itself off at dawn?
Experience: That which would have been most useful five minutes before you acquired it.

Steve
Tyro (Centaur 1361)
at Southampton

Gary-Cottam
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 12:56 pm
Anti Spam measure: Yes
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by Gary-Cottam » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi Tyro,

The light itself at least 1m, but I guess sea state and height play a factor.

The light is waterproof, but obviously not the socket end.

Nope, I am afraid there isn't a photocell.

I keep one on board as a backup, should my main lights fail for any reason.
Westerly Centaur 1421 - Gemini
Haven Marina, Ipswich

TyroSailor
Posts: 630
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 6:48 pm
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Wiring in Centaur mast

Post by TyroSailor » Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:41 pm

:) Might give it a go. If it only draws a fraction of an amp it doesn't much matter if it stays on from dawn till whenever I haul myself out of my pit.
Experience: That which would have been most useful five minutes before you acquired it.

Steve
Tyro (Centaur 1361)
at Southampton

Post Reply