roller furling jib tangled problem

LulaBelle
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

roller furling jib tangled problem

Post by LulaBelle » Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:19 pm

Hello

I have a Westerly W21 which is my first boat and I have not sailed before so while the boat is out of the water I have been playing with the sails.

The Mainsail worked great however when I unfurled the jib I noticed the lines at the top of the jib which were tied to the mast started to get entangled (wrapping themselves around the jib. I untangled them (See attached photo), but when I started to roll the jib back in the lines started to wrap themselves around the jib again.

Any ideas what could be wrong? I've tried to compare my setup with others and some web sites suggested a swivel thing could be seized however mine appears to be slightly different.

I'm a novice so any advice would be great, thanks

Paul
Jib.JPG
Jib.JPG (64.66 KiB) Viewed 3155 times

mikebuggy

Re: roller furling jib tangled problem

Post by mikebuggy » Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:49 pm