Kicking strap rigging?

Backwaters
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Kicking strap rigging?

Post by Backwaters » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:08 pm

Greetings all,

I would like to ask the forum for opinions on the kicking strap rigging on my 1974 Centaur. My boat, which I purchased two months ago, is equipped with in-mast furling. All the lines for the system are lead aft on top of the coachroof. I haven't sailed the boat yet, in fact I haven't sailed in over 25 years so please excuse me if I use the wrong terminology. I am currently removing the headliner in the saloon for replacement and will have access to all the bolts that mount the deck gear (organizers, winches, clutches, etc) so I plan to overhaul the system. For some reason all the gear is mounted on wooden pads that aren't teak and are all rotten. I'm no expert but it certainly doesn't appear to be 'best practice' from what I can see.
image.jpg
Pic
image.jpg (31.06 KiB) Viewed 1448 times
Anyway my question revolves around my kicking strap (see picture). The line exits a block up top on the boom and then travels diagonally down to the coach roof where it rubs against the wooden splash deflector (is that what it's called?)...in fact it uses a hole drilled in the splash deflector to change direction. It's then lead aft along the coach roof to a cam cleat. This doesn't seem intuitive to me. All the other pictures on the internet show the kicking strap line exiting a block at the mast base and then usually changing direction through a deck organizer, then proceeding aft to a cam cleat. Should I change this or leave it be? It seems like with the current system every time I tack I would have to loosen the line to the kicking strap!? In fact, is it possible that someone has reinstalled this system upside down, I.e. the blocks are reversed?

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Regards, Jason

Vegable

Re: Kicking strap rigging?

Post by Vegable » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:00 pm

Hello Jason,