Westerly cirrus listing to starboard

keithbennett101
Anti Spam measure: Yes
AntiSpam Text: negative

Westerly cirrus listing to starboard

Post by keithbennett101 » Thu May 26, 2011 9:25 am

I am new to sailing and have recently bought a Westerly Cirrus. I have noticed that she has a slight list to Starboard and maybe a bit stern heavy. She has had the original engine replaced with a Penta 2010 and has a double battery set on the Starboard side.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this problem before?

I cannot find any trapped water or any other reason apart from it being a combination of the fuel tank and the double battery set which are both on the starboard side.

I not exactly sure where the water line should be along her stern. I compared her with other Westerlys in the marina who's sterns appeared to lie right on the water line ( the bottom of the U shape)

I have added some ballast to the bow and port side to try and balance her out, but her stern is still about 4" below the water level.

Any ideas greatly received.

thehairs1970
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: Westerly

Re: Westerly cirrus listing to starboard

Post by thehairs1970 » Thu May 26, 2011 5:21 pm

Not an expert but...

Fuel tank and batteries will weigh a lot. This might account for listing. Is the anchor and chain central?

Adding ballast to the bow won't necessarily bring the stern up. I suspect the penta engine is heavier.

Martyn

Jim Boyd
Anti Spam measure: No
AntiSpam Text: westerly

Post by Jim Boyd » Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:00 pm

keithbennett101 wrote:I am new to sailing and have recently bought a Westerly Cirrus. I have noticed that she has a slight list to Starboard and maybe a bit stern heavy. She has had the original engine replaced with a Penta 2010 and has a double battery set on the Starboard side.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this problem before?